Webinar: Correctly Calculating Net Investment in Capital Assets

Weaver Wednesday: Government CPE Series

Correctly Calculating Net Investment in Capital Assets
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
10:00 am ET | 9:00 am CT | 8:00 am MT | 7:00 am PT

1 CPE credit available for the live webinar.*

GFOA’s Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting Award Program (COA) is now requiring all applicants to submit the calculation of the net investment in capital assets they report on their government-wide statements of net position. This session will provide a review of the proper calculation of this important classification of net position and discuss frequent errors seen in annual comprehensive financial reports submitted to the COA, one of the most frequent reasons for denial of the award.

Those who successfully complete this session will be able to identify:

  • The role of net investment in capital assets as a component of net position
  • The reporting units for which a net investment in capital assets is calculated
  • Capital vs. noncapital liabilities and deferred resource flows
  • Frequent missteps in the calculation of net investment in capital assets

Register:

Meet the speaker:

  • Michele Mark Levine, Director of the Technical Service Center — Government Finance Officers Association

1 CPE credit available for the live webinar • Level: Basic • No prerequisites • Free to attend

This webinar is for all levels of accountants, finance professionals, CFOs, COOs and CTOs. Please note that each person should register and attend individually in order to receive CPE credit.

*Weaver is licensed to provide CPE credit for Texas and New York. We are not currently a registered CPE provider with NASBA. Therefore, you should confirm with your applicable state board and/or professional organization to ensure they will accept the CPE credits.

Can't make this webinar? Registering will allow you to view the webinar on-demand, when it is most convenient for you.

View System Requirements

Questions about registration? Contact John Rio at john.rio@weaver.com or 972.448.6904.

SUBSCRIBE TO EVENT INVITES