Fraud Can Happen to Anyone, but an IP PIN Can Help

As tax filing season gets underway, the IRS is allowing taxpayers living in 20 states to protect their tax returns with a six-digit Identity Protection Personal Identification Number (IP PIN). This new program — called the IRS IP PIN Opt-In Program — helps the IRS to verify taxpayers’ identities and accept their tax returns for processing.

Taxpayers living in the following 20 states may request an IP PIN via the IP PIN Opt-In Program:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Washington

Eligible taxpayers must go to the IRS site to obtain their six-digit PIN using the Get an IP PIN tool. For more information about the program, see Publication 5367, the IP PIN Opt-in Program for Taxpayers.

If you have any questions about the IP PIN Program or tax issues, contact a Weaver professional today and we can help.